Home » News » Mark wins rerun election

Mark wins rerun election

From ROSE EJEMBI, Makurdi.

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared former Senate President, David Mark of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Benue South rerun election conducted in nine local government areas of the state.

Mark emerged winner after he polled a total votes of 84,192 to beat his All Progressives Congress (APC)’s contender, Daniel Onjeh who scored 71,621 votes.

INEC’s Chief returning officer, Prof. Ishaq Shuaibu announced the result exactly 5:10am yesterday thus sparking wild jubilation in the camp of David Mark.

This is making it the record sixth time Mark is winning to represent his people, the Idoma Nation at the Senate. Recall that Mark has been the senator representing Benue South Senatorial district since democracy in 1999.

Alhaji Usman Abubakar popularly known as Young Alhaji, a staunch supporter of David Mark had in fulfillment of his earlier promise, thrown a big party in his Otukpo residence in celebration of Mark’s victory.

At the time of filing this report, it is not clear whether the APC candidate, Onjeh would accept the result of the rerun election but one of his supporters who confided in Daily Sun it is not likely that he would go to court to protest the result.

“The young man actually tried because he gave Senator Mark a serious fight. However, I don’t think he will go to court over the result. In fact, if I were him, I would just summon courage and congratulate Mark. Everybody knows that he has tried in this election.”

The rundown of the result as announced by INEC is as follows:

1. Ado LGA
APC – 6370
PDP – 6513

2. Agatu LGA
APC – 3458
PDP – 7986

3. Apa LGA
APC – 4943
PDP – 9191

4. Obi LGA
APC – 8585
PDP – 7043

5. Ohimini LGA
APC – 6192
PDP – 5923

6. Okpokwu LGA
APC – 6830
PDP – 11935

7. Otukpo LGA
APC – 12203
PDP – 18468

8. Oju LGA
APC – 14159
PDP – 10289

9. Ogbadibo LGA
APC – 8882
PDP – 6844

Difference of 12,571 votes