Home » News » Isoko unite, get new leaders

Isoko unite, get new leaders

THE umbrella body of the Isoko ethnic nationality in Delta State recently swore in a new executive body to run its affairs for the next two years.

The Isoko Development Union (IDU) election which was held in Oleh produced High Chief Idu Amadhe (President General), Prof. Emumena Samson Akama (First Vice President), Chief Panama (Second Vice President), Dr. Francis Oniekoro (Secretary General) and Mr. Henry .A. Odoko (Publicity Secretary).

For the first time, the swearing-in ceremony took place at the new IDU House at the Oleh/Ozoro roundabout. Both towns are the headquarters of Isoko South and North council areas.

Amadhe thanked the Isoko people for the opportunity given him to serve again, having previously been elected in 1999.
He promised to provide result-oriented leadership and address the plight of Isoko people in Bayelsa Stateand Ndokwa East LGA of Delta State.

A coordinator and national mobilization officer of a group, Isoko Lions Movement (ILM), Mr. Emonena Cyril Oshogbor, praised some other leaders of the people whom he said contributed to the success of the occasion and were contributing positively to the development of the oil-producing area.

He added: “ Such leaders include Hon. Leo Ogor Okuwhe, Hon. Tim Owhefere, Arc. Joseph Ajiri Ogeh, Prof. Saliba D. Mukoro, Hon. Ovie Oghoore, AIG Chris Olakpe (rtd), Chief Askia Bashorun Ogieh, Hon. Karo Ilolo, Chief Barr. Moses Edewagre, Hon. Emmanuel .A. Egbabor, Hon. Sir. ltiakpo .C. lkpokpo and Hon. Phillip Osima.”

“Others are Ivies (kings) such Dr. Joseph Ogheneovo Ekwe (lyede Kingdom), Othuke Murphy Urugbezi (JP) Ogwara 1 (Ellu Kingdom), Anthony Ogbogbo (JP) Ibuka 1 (Ozoro Kingdom) and Felix Omavueweore, Adbabe Ekpolo II (Okpe-lsoko Kingdom).”