Home » News » INEC Says to Conduct 22 Elections in 8 States on Feb. 20

INEC Says to Conduct 22 Elections in 8 States on Feb. 20

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Saturday, 20thFebruary, 2016, conduct twenty two (22) of the Appeal Court-ordered re-run elections across eight (8) states of the federation.

This will mark the climax of the eighty court-ordered elections which the Commission is to conduct from January to March 2016.

With preparations at top gear to ensure hitch-free mini general elections, INEC will conduct Senatorial, Federal Constituency and State Constituency elections across eight states, namely: Benue, Kaduna, Plateau, Niger, Nasarawa, Kogi, Taraba and Imo.

A breakdown of these elections shows that the Commission will conduct four (4) Senatorial elections; Three (3) Federal Constituency elections; and Fifteen (15) State Constituency elections.

The Senatorial elections will be conducted in Benue South Senatorial District; Imo North Senatorial District; Kogi Central Senatorial District and Kogi East Senatorial District.

In a similar vein, the Federal Constituency elections will hold in Okene/Ogori Magongo Federal Constituency of Kogi State; Lafia/Obi Federal Constituency of Nasarawa State; and Kurmi/Sardauna Federal Constituency of Taraba state.

The fifteen (15) State Constituency elections will be conducted across Imo, Kaduna, Kogi, Plateau, Niger and Taraba states. They are:
· Imo: Isiala Mbano, Oru East, and Owerri West;
· Kaduna: Lere West;
· Kogi: Ofu Sc, Ankpa 1, Idah, Dekina 1 and Dekina II (Okura);
· Niger: Suleja;
· Plateau: Langtang South, Pankshin South and Pankshin North;
· Taraba: Ardo Kola and Mbamga.

Meanwhile, the INEC, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) office is to present the Register of Voters to contestants and political parties fielding candidates for the Chairmanship and Councillorship elections tomorrow, Thursday, 18thFebruary 2016.

The Resident Electoral Commission (REC) for the FCT, Professor Jacob Jatau, who disclosed this yesterday to the Daily Bulletin said the presentation which would take place at 9.30 a.m. at the INEC FCT Conference Hall was in accordance with the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

The post INEC Says to Conduct 22 Elections in 8 States on Feb. 20 appeared first on Metro Watch.