Home » News » Harrysong, Basorge Tariah, Veentage Band to thrill guests at The Sun Awards Saturday

Harrysong, Basorge Tariah, Veentage Band to thrill guests at The Sun Awards Saturday

As part of the entertainment component of The Sun Awards, the management of The Sun Publishing Limited, organisers of the annual event, has concluded arrangement with music sensation, Harrysong, ace events host/actor, Basorge Tariah, and the Veentage Band to thrill guests.
The 2015 edition of The Sun Awards holds Saturday, February 20, 2016 at Eko Convention Centre, Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. The event starts at 3pm.
Unveiling Harrysong, Tariah and the Veentage Band, The Sun management said they were carefully selected to entertain guests, at an “evening of fun and celebration of excellence.”
According to The Sun, Tariah was selected, being a multi-talented creative personality, who combines as master of ceremonies, comedian, event host and actor. He is the lead actor in the popular DStv family programme, “Do Good,” where he plays the role of Mr. Do Good.

It said Harrysong, whose reggae blues has topped the chart for many months on radio and television, will thrill guests with his hit tracks. The Veentage Band, on its part, will keep the venue alive with the replay of great contemporary and evergreen tunes.
Commenting on his selection, Tariah, who will be hosting the event for the first time, said: “I am really honoured to anchor this year’s edition of The Sun Awards. The platform is a credible brand that over the years has rewarded creativity across all spheres of the Nigerian society and so, I am proud to host this year’s edition. It is Nigeria’s most important award and it goes to those who truly deserve it.”
Harrysong said he was excited about the event, being one of the award winners and musicians billed to entertain the guests. He promised to give his best at the grand award ceremony.
With renowned chartered accountant and former ambassador, Sir Arthur Mbanefo, as Chairman, the 2015 edition of The Sun Awards will celebrate outstanding Nigerians, who made marks in various spheres of human endeavours last year.
Those to be honoured are Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, former governor of Lagos State and national leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress (The Sun Man of the Year); Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra (Governor of the Year); Hajia Nana Shettima (Most Supportive First Lady); Dr. Uche Ogah, President, Master Energy Oil & Gas Limited (Investor of the Year); Mr. Yemi Adeola, Group Managing Director of Sterling Bank Plc (Banker of the Year); Dr. Obiora Chukwuka (Businessman of the Year); Mrs. Chinelo Anohu-Amazu, Director General of the Nigerian Pension Commission (Public Service Award); Oba Freadrick Akiruntan (Industrialist of the Year); Mr. Amaju Pinnick (Sport Person of the Year); and Mr. Harrison Okiri (Harrysong) (Creative Person of the Year).
Others are Mrs. Josephine Ugwu (Nigerian Hero Award); Mrs. Omoni Oboli (Nollywood Person of the Year); Chief Vincent Obianodo, Chairman of Chisco Transport (Hospitality Man of the Year); and Chief Eric Umeofia, Chairman, Erisco Foods Limited (Manufacturer of the Year).
Others who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Awards are, former Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar; General Ike Nwachukwu; Chief Mbazurike Amaechi; Dr. Samuel Ogbemudia; Chief Kessington Adebutu; and Justice Mariam Aloma Muktar, former Chief Justice of Nigeria.
Many prominent Nigerians have won The Sun Awards in the past. They include, Minister of Transport, Chibuike Amaechi, Minister of Power, Works & Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola; Governor of Edo State, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole; former governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi; President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote and Chairman of Globacom, Dr. Mike Adenuga.
Others are former governor of Kano State, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso; former governor of Delta State, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan; former chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu; ex-governor of Gombe State, Alhaji Danjuma Goje and former governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio.
Others who have also won the awards are former Military President, General Ibrahim Babangida; former Minister of Defence, General Theophilus Danjuma, Chief Tony Anenih; Prof Joe Irukwu, Don Jazzy, Mrs. Ekaete Unoma Akpabio and Mrs. Durosimi Suswan, among others.