Home » News » Buhari Fires NAFDAC DG, CEOs of ‎25 Other Parastatals 

Buhari Fires NAFDAC DG, CEOs of ‎25 Other Parastatals 

By Ngozi Ekhator

The gale of disengagement of chief executives of federal parastatals and agencies on Monday afternoon spread to the National Agency for Food Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) with the ouster of its director-general, Dr Paul Orhii, by President Muhammadu Buhari.

A Federal government statement by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Babachir David Lawal, disclosed that apart from Orhii, chief executive officers of 25 other such agencies were equally relieved of their appointments.

Full text of the statement…

The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari has approved the immediate disengagement of the following Chief Executive Officers of the underlisted Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions.

2.​He has also approved that the most senior officers in the Parastatals, Agencies and Councils oversee the activities of the organizations pending the appointment of substantive Chief Executive Officers.

(i) Nigerian Television Authority (NTA)
(ii) Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN)
(iii) Voice of Nigeria (VON)
(iiii) News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)
(v) National Broadcasting Commission (NBC)
(vi) Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF)
(vii) New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD)
(viii) Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF)
(ix) Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board(NCDMB)
(x) Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN)
(xi) Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund)
(xii) National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA)
(xiii) Petroleum Equalization Fund
(xiiii) Nigeria Railways Corporation (NRC)
(xv) Bureau of Public Procurements (BPP)
(xvi) Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE)
(xvii) Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA)
(xviii) Standard Organization of Nigeria (SON)
(xix) National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC)
(xx) Nigeria Investment Promotion Council (NIPC)
(xxi) Bank of Industry (BoI)
(xxii) National Centre for Women Development (NCWD)
(xxiii) National Orientation Agency (NOA)
(xxiiii) Industrial Training Fund (ITF)
(xxv) Nigerian Export-Import Bank
(xxvi) National Agency for Prohibition of Traffic In Persons and Other Related Matters (NAPTIP)

3.​Mr. President, however, thanked them for their invaluable services to the Nation and wishes them well in their future endeavours.


Engr. Babachir David Lawal

Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

The post Buhari Fires NAFDAC DG, CEOs of ‎25 Other Parastatals appeared first on Metro Watch.